Portfolio Part 2 #ALC708

In this modern age, the advent of new social media technologies has led to a rise in long-distance relationships or LDR. There are many couples who are engaged in this kind of romance in the virtual world, taking risks and surviving through it. In the contrary, there are those people who disagree to the idea of going through long-distance relationships, viewing it as complicated and challenging, and there are some who also assume that LDR just doesn’t work or last. There are a lot of negative connotations driven by it, primarily because of the distance—which sucks!

That may be the image many of us have of long-distance relationships but the reality can be different. To enquire into the reality of maintaining long-distance relationships in the virtual world, I decided to focus on a particular concern of whether LDR does work and the hope around it, particularly with the question: Does distance make the heart grow fonder? The video highlights significant points such as intimacy, communication, and more, to be able to support and balance my argument which is towards the possibility of LDR working (which I believe so), and being a function of technology. In turn, may most of you be able to watch and be informed with a valuable lesson too.

Upon watching my video, this is evidently an area of personal interest to me, which is supported by research and drawn from a number of scholarly resources, wherein I stated key points and also short quotations, making it educational as possible for the audience — pro-LDR or not. While at the same time, approaching it creatively, inspiringly and expressively, with the intention to present a clear topic, outline, and transition.

The strategies I utilised for my video project includes my voice recordings as audio, and presented my own video footages (it is very relatable) and some images with importance to LDR. It was a balance of my own media together with outsourced materials. This was also a great opportunity for me to relevantly express myself, my relationship, and surroundings positively too, and it feels awesome. The use of Creative Commons materials I included within my video were sourced images from Flickr and Pixabay. A very special thanks for Apple’s iMovie as well, for providing the background music selections within the video and making the execution and production possible.

In relation to the challenges I have faced to accomplish this video project, I just want to say that this was the very first time I ever did an edited video, and it definitely wasn’t easy, (you were right, Adam!). All the time and work it took was surely extra, and I had to work my way of learning every little detail and features about video-editing on my own, especially through my first encounter with iMovie. I also struggled to be creative and critical at the same time, at some point I was anxious of being at the wrong direction. But I really tried my best and most importantly, I undeniably enjoyed the challenging process and learned so much from it. Despite all the struggles I faced, everything in this exercise WAS ALL WORTH IT.

It definitely is clear to me now – why it is called #LearningByDoing. We just do not stop learning in life. I can’t help but smile to the thought that indeed, it seems impossible until its done. I am proud of myself for accomplishing every bit of this video portfolio. I would like to express deep gratitude to this unit, it was overall fun coming out of my comfort zone.

My broader online activity in relation to the unit:

I have made my visibility in Twitter, engaged in most of the weekly Tiffit challenges, and tweeted unit-related content in hashtags #ALC708, while being fun and insightful as well. I also have interacted with some of ALC peers online, made  relevant comments to posts and tweets, joining some of their conversations. I also interacted in podcasts, shared relevant points, and answered to comments and feedback. Every person in this unit I digitally connected with have taught me something.

References:

IMAGES: (sourced from Flicker & Pixabay)

Long distance love by PRODvortygirl (CC BY 2.0)

Long Distance Relationship by Brian Ingmanson (CC BY 2.0)

Kiss me hard before you go by Katie Shanice  (CC-BY-NC-SA 2.0)

FaceTime med by erik forsberg (CC-BY-NC 2.0)

Chris & Jessica Engagement – Falling by Jeremy Blanchard (CC BY-NC-SA 2.0)

Skype chat call video calls (CC0 1.0)

Adult city girl indoors laptop (CC0 1.0)

Smartphone mobile phone mobile app (CC0 1.0)

Smartphone hand photo montage faces (CC 1.0)

Man woman pair love (CC 1.0)

Hand ball faces world population (CC 1.0)

MUSIC: Provided by iMovie

All other audio, videos and images by Angel Dolor.

Billedo, CJ, Kerkhof, P & Finkenauer, C 2015, ‘The Use of Social Networking Sites for RelationshipMaintenance in Long-Distance and Geographically Close Romantic Relationships’, Academia, vol. 18, no. 3, pp. 152-157, doi:10.1089/cyber.2014.0469

Jiang, C & Hancock, J 2013, ‘Absence Makes the Communication Grow Fonder: Geographic Separation, Interpersonal Media, and Intimacy in Dating Relationships’, Journal of Communication, vol. 63, no. 3, pp. 556–577, doi:10.1111/jcom.12029 

Kerner, I 2013, Does distance really make the heart grow fonder?, CNN, retrieved 29 May 2017, http://edition.cnn.com/2013/09/17/living/relationships-long-distance-benefits/

LaFata, A 2015, Does Absence Make The Heart Grow Fonder Or Does It Make You Forget?, Elite Daily, retrieved 29 May 2017, http://elitedaily.com/dating/does-absence-make-heart-fonder/1098279/

Marinos, S 2017, How to make a long distance love last, Herald Sun, retrieved 29 May 2017, http://www.heraldsun.com.au/news/how-to-make-a-long-distance-love-last/news-story/4b19ea2cc8380f5a0fb23c85516caed2

Pearson, C 2013, Long Distance Relationship Benefits Include Greater Intimacy, Study Says, Huffington Post, retrieved 29 May 2017, http://www.huffingtonpost.com.au/entry/long-distance-relationship-benefits_n_3616839

Vorwerck, M 2013, Does absence make the heart grow fonder? Study says yes, USA Today, retrieved 30 May 2017, https://www.usatoday.com/story/news/nation/2013/07/20/long-distance-relationships-2013/2568295/

Wong, B 2017, What Every Person In A Long-Distance Relationship Should Know, Huffington Post, retrieved 29 May 2017, http://www.huffingtonpost.com.au/entry/how-to-survive-a-long-distance-relationship_us_58c96c4ae4b0934e249cbed4

Leave a Reply

